190 State Nominated Visa

Subclass 190 Visa allows individuals, nominated by Australian States and Territories, to apply for permanent residency. The skills must be demonstrated by the necessary qualification(s) and experience in the field related to an eligible occupation for which the State or Territory experiences labour shortage. Each State and Territory ascribes additional requirements in order to address the needs of their local labour market.

The Federal Government retains ultimate responsibility for Australia’s migration program, including the allocation of available places across program streams and making decisions on visa applications. The Federal Government provides the State and Territory Governments limited numbers of positions for their state and territory nominated migration programs. Check the 2023-24 190 nomination allocations.

State nomination from South Australia provides you with five additional points to help you qualify for a subclass 190 visa under the Department of Home Affairs points test. 

Invitation rounds occur ongoing throughout the financial year. There are no set dates, and rounds are not announced beforehand. We cannot advise the date of upcoming invitation rounds or the provide the likelihood your SkillSelect EOI will be invited to apply for nomination.


190 State Nomination Criteria


190 Eligibility Criteria

To qualify for a Subclass 190 in this stream, the applicant must:

  • Be in an eligible occupation;
  • Be nominated by an Australian State or Territory;
  • Be invited on SkillSelect to apply;
  • Have a positive skills assessment from no more than 3 years ago;
  • Have competent English; and
  • Have the same Schedule 6D points as claimed in the Expression of Interest.



Each State and Territory drafts and publishes their own strategic list of occupations to combat their issue of addressing labour shortage. Therefore, applicants must check with the State or Territory by which they seek to be nominated prior to starting the application process.


Skills Assessment

For each eligible occupation, an authority is tasked with assessment of the suitability of applicants for the corresponding occupation. This process of assessment is known as “Skills Assessment.” Each assessor operates with its own standards, procedures and prerequisites. For certain occupations, multiple bodies may conduct skills assessments for migration purposes.


State Nomination

When submitting an EOI, the applicant is to select a State or Territory to be considered for nomination. The procedures for the nomination applications vary across the State and Territories. Some States may separate applicants into cohorts, ascribing different criteria to each. Others may modify the standards for specific occupations, requiring additional work experience, higher points or superior English test results. The majority of States and Territories require the applicants to live or have studied in their jurisdiction in order for their nominations to be issued. Meeting the eligibility criteria does not guarantee a nomination as it depends on matters subsisting in their region.


Applicable Public Interest Criteria

4001, 4002, 4003, 4004, 4005, 4010, 4020, 4021 and 4019 (if applicable)


Applicable Special Return Criteria

5001, 5002 and 5010



No conditions attached to Subclass 190 visas.


Application Charges

First instalment payable at the time of application;

    • Base application charge: $4,640
    • Additional applicant charge for an applicant who is at least 18: $2,320
    • Additional applicant charge for an applicant who is less than 18: $1,160

Second instalment payable prior to visa grant;

    • Applicants aged 18 and over who do not demonstrate functional English: $4,885


Scroll to Top